The Canadian Press - Sunday Jan. 26, 2014 09:38 ET

Kaillie Humphries wins women's World Cup bobsled title

Canada's Lyndon rush claims 2nd straight bronze

Canada's overall World Cup winners Kaillie Humphries, right, and Heather Moyse pose with the trophy Sunday in Koenigssee, Germany. (Christof Stache/AFP/Getty Images)

Canada's Kaillie Humphries edged Elana Meyers of the United States by the slimmest of margins Sunday for the overall women's World Cup bobsled title in Konigssee, Germany.

The Calgary native finished with 1,629 points, one more than Meyers. If Humphries - the Olympic champion and now a two-time overall World Cup winner - was 0.03 seconds slower Sunday, Meyers
would have won the title.

Humphries and Heather Moyse of Summerside, P.E.I., finished with three World Cup victories, one silver and one bronze medal.

One of the most explosive teams out of the start, the pair set a new women's start record in Konigssee at 5.17 in both runs.

"Kaillie crushed everyone in that first run and I thought she was going to cruise to a win today," said head coach Tom De La Hunty. "But she made a mistake on that second run and when you make a mistake in a snowy race it pays you back double."

Fabienne Meyer and Tanja Mayer of Switzerland won the last race of the season in a two-run time of one minute 44.01 seconds. Meyers and Aja Evans had a stellar second run to climb six spots and finish second, just ahead of Humphries and Moyse.

The reigning Olympic champions have won three World Cup races this season, along with a silver and Sunday's bronze. The Canadians also set a new women's start record in Konigssee, posting each of the two runs at 5.17 seconds.

“It was a great end to the year for us. We medalled in all three races so we are very optimistic now heading to Sochi,” said De La Hunty.

Jennifer Ciochetti of Edmonton, and Chelsea Valois of Zenon Park, Sask., were 12th at 1:45.31.

Rush earns 2nd bronze

Canada also won bronze in the four-man race. Lyndon Rush of Humboldt, Sask., Lascelles Brown of Calgary and Edmonton's David Bissett and Neville Wright finished two runs in 1:38.84. Rush won bronze in Saturday's two-man event with Brown.

The defending Olympic four-man champion Steven Holcomb and his team won their fourth race of the year in 1:38.54, edging the Swiss sled driven by Beat Hefti by a mere 0.09 seconds.

Holcomb medalled five times in eight four-man races this season, finishing second to Germany's Maximilian Arndt for the yearlong points title. Holcomb was the two-man season champion.

Feeeding off his first World Cup two-man victory, Justin Kripps and his crew finished 11th in the four-man. Kripps of Summerland, B.C., James McNaughton of Newmarket, Ont., Tim Randall of Burlington, Ont., and Edmonton's Bryan Barnett stopped the clock at 1:39.25.

Calgary's Chris Spring finished fifth in the overall World Cup four-man standings with a 12th place finish on Sunday. Spring and his crew of Jesse Lumsden of Burlington, Ottawa's Cody Sorensen and Saskatoon's Ben Coakwell posted a time of 1:39.31.

With files from The Associated Press

Comments on this story are moderated. Comments will appear immediately but may be removed if they violate our Submission Guidelines. Comments are open and welcome for three days after the story is published. We reserve the right to close comments before then.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that the CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.