Freestyle Skiing

Kate Pettersen - Monday Jan. 20, 2014 10:25 ET

Alex Bilodeau leads Canada's powerhouse Olympic freestyle ski team

20 of 26 athletes officially named Monday

Canada's Alex Bilodeau celebrates his win in the men's freestyle World Cup moguls event in Lake Placid, N.Y. (Mike Groll/The Associated Press)
To play the video you must download our Olympic App using the link belowDownload ApporPlay Video in App

The Canadian Olympic Committee announced 20 of the 26 freestyle skiers who will represent Canada at the 2014 Winter Olympics during a ceremony in Montreal on Monday.

Representatives of the Canadian Olympic Committee, Canada Freestyle Ski Association and the Government of Canada presented each athlete with an official Canadian Olympic team sweater.

Athletes named to the Olympic freestyle team will compete in aerials, moguls, halfpipe and slopestyle. The remainder of the 26 spots will be filled when Alpine Canada officially announced the Olympic ski cross team on Jan. 27.

The team is headlined by Olympic moguls Champion Alex Bilodeau who will compete in his third career Olympic Games in Sochi.

“I am ready to hit the slopes of Russia and show the world why Canada is a force to be reckoned with,” said Bilodeau. “The Canadian Olympic Freestyle Team is totally focused. These Games belong to Canada.”

Justine Dufour-Lapointe will make her Olympic debut in Sochi alongside her sisters Chloe and Maxime.

“I always hoped that I would be able to represent the nation by doing what I love,” said Dufour-Lapointe.

“To be able to say that I am now doing that is a dream come true. I can’t wait to represent Canada in Sochi.”

The roster includes:

Men’s moguls

  • Alex Bilodeau
  • Mikael Kingsbury
  • Marc-Antoine Gagnon

Ladies moguls

  • Justine Dufour-Lapointe
  • Chloe Dufour-Lapointe
  • Maxime Dufour-Lapointe
  • Audrey Robichaud

Men’s aerials

  • Travis Gerrits

Men’s halfpipe

  • Mike Riddle
  • Justin Dorey
  • Noah Bowman
  • Matt Margetts

Ladies halfpipe

  • Rosalind Groenewoud
  • Megan Gunning
  • Keltie Hansen

Men’s slopestyle

  • Alex Beaulieu-Marchand

Ladies slopestyle

  • Kaya Turski
  • Dara Howell
  • Kim Lamarre
  • Yuki Tsubota

There are six spots remaining for Canadian ski cross team members.

Comments on this story are moderated. Comments will appear immediately but may be removed if they violate our Submission Guidelines. Comments are open and welcome for three days after the story is published. We reserve the right to close comments before then.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that the CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.